3 Indians named in Test Team of the Year


Dubai, Jan 20 (UNI) Three Indian players have been included in the ICC Test Team of the Year on Thursday.

Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant and Ravichandran Ashwin have made the cut in the Kane Williamson-led side. The players from India, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, England, Australia and Pakistan are included in the team.

Rohit cracked 906 runs in the calendar year at an average of 47.68 with two centuries in the longest format of the game.

His compatriot Rishabh Pant established himself as India's first-choice wicket-keeper batter. He has scored 748 runs in 12 matches at an average of 39.36, including a ton. He also accounted for 39 dismissals in 23 innings.

Ashwin, the experienced off-spinner, scalped 54 wickets in 9 matches at an average of 16.64. He also chipped in with 355 runs at an average of 25.35, which included a vital century against England in Chennai.

Kiwi skipper Williamson was an influential leader for the Black Caps, leading them to glory at the inaugural World Test Championship Final against India in Southampton. He was also steady with the bat, scoring 395 runs in 4 matches at an average of 65.83 with one century.

Dimuth Karunaratne, the Sri Lanka skipper, consistently got his team off to solid starts during the calendar year. He scored 902 runs in 7 matches at an average of 69.38 with four centuries.

Marnus Labuschagne scored 526 runs at an average of 65.75 with two centuries in 5 matches. It was a memorable year for him as he continued to score runs in bulk while further cementing his position as Australia's No.3.

England skipper Joe Root cracked 1708 runs in 15 matches at an average 61. His 1708 runs are the third-most scored in a calendar year in the history of Test cricket.

Pakistan's Fawad Alam was at his best in 2021, scoring 571 runs in 9 matches at an average of 57.10 with three centuries.

Kyle Jamieson emerged as a brilliant bowling option in 2021 for the Kiwis. He picked up 27 wickets in 5 matches at an average of 17.51 and also scored 105 runs at 17.50. Jamieson was adjudged the Player of the Match in the ICC World Test Championship final.

Pakistan's Hasan Ali claimed 41 wickets in 9 matches at a sensational average of 16.07. He also picked up one five-wicket haul and registered best bowling figures of 10/114.

Another bowler from Pakistan Shaheen Afridi picked up 47 wickets in 9 matches at an average of 17.06, including three five-wicket hauls.
ICC Test Team of the Year: Dimuth Karunaratne, Rohit Sharma, Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Root, Kane Williamson (c), Fawad Alam, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Kyle Jamieson, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi