Breaking News :

4th Phase of Polling


In the 4th phase of the Lok Sabha election on April 29 the polling were completed in 71 seats in the 9 states of Madhya Pradesh-6, Bihar-5, Maharashtra-17, Odisha-6, Rajasthan-13, Uttar Pradesh-13, West Bengal-8 and 1 in Jammu Kashmir. The All India polling average was 64 per cent. While in the 6 seats of Madhya Pradesh the poll percentage was higher by 10 per cent and it was 74 per cent. It was highest 87 percentge at Chhindwara from where Mr.Nakul Nath son of Chief Minister Mr.Kamal Nath is seeking election on Congress ticket. This seat was held by Mr.Kamal Nath is many elections and once by his wife Mrs.Alka Nath. Mr.Kamal Nath also lost it once to Mr.Sunderlal Patwa in a by-election. This time along with Lok Sabha the Assembly by-election from Chhindwara was also held on becoming Chief Minister Mr.Kamal Nath is seeking Assembly entry from here. The Madhya Pradesh polling was peaceful. In Balaghat Naxals set on fire a vehicle of independent candidate Mr.Kishore Samreetey but polling nowhere here was affected. In Sidhi the BJP candidate Reeti Pathak alleged booth capturing at Kosta polling booth and demanded re-poll at that booth. The Chief Electoral Officer Mr.Kanta Rao asserted there were some disturbances at that booth but situation was handed promptly and polling completed without any flaw. Constituency wise the polling percentage are Sidhi-47, Shahdol-75, Jabalpur-69, Mandla-76, Balaghat it was 77 and highest 87 per cent in Chhindwara. Alongwith Lok Sabha bye-election the Vidhan Sabha bye-election from Chhindwara also held. The winning Congress candidate Mr.Deepak Saxena vacated it for Mr.Kamal Nath. Out of total 543 seats of the Lok Sabha so far upto 4th phase the polling is completed in 374 seats. The entire elections are being conducted in 7 phases. The another three phase will be completed this month on May 6-12 and 19. The election in Bhopal capital seat will be held on May 12. The Bhartya Janata Party won this seat in last many election. This time the Congress after winning the State Power in the Assembly General Elections with high hopes trying more Lok Sabha seats over the BJP. The State has 29 Lok Sabha seats. The Congress has fielded a formidable candidate the ex-Chief Minister Mr.Digvijay Singh. He is a very well known name and face with personal contact with large number of people. The BJP nominee Pragya Thakur is a new face and new name in Bhopal. She will get party votes only as she has no personal image here. Obviously all claim total victory till last and facts and reality are always something else. The former Chief Minister Mr.Shivraj Singh Chouhan is claiming that the party would win all the 29 seats. The BJP announced its candidate Pragya Thakur very late. While Congress announced the name of Mr.Digvijay Singh much earlier and he launched the vigorous campaign. It is added advantage in his favour provided by the political opponent.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.