Breaking News :

6th Phase of Polling


In the 6th phase polling of the Lok Sabha elections 59 seats in the seven states of Madhya Pradesh-8, Bihar-8, Haryana-10, Uttar Pradesh-14, West Bengal-8, Jharkhand and 7 seats of Delhi went in poll. The All India polling average is 63.91 per cent and in Madhya Pradesh it is 65.26 per cent. It was highest 74.22 per cent in Rajgarh and lowest 54.57 per cent in Bhind. In Bhopal for the first time it was highest on this seat being at 65.69 per cent. The 8 seats are Gwalior, Morena, Bhind, Guna, Sagar, Vidisha, Rajgarh and Bhopal. The 7th phase of voting will be held. May 19 when the 8 seats of Indore, Dhar, Khargone, Khandwa, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Ratlam and Dewas will go poll and with the 7th phase the Lok Sabha election, will be complete in Madhya Pradesh. In this phase the election of Mr.Jyotiraditya Scindia- Guna, Mr.Narendra Singh Tomar- Morena and Mr.Digvijay Singh- Bhopal are over. Mr.Singh Congress Rajya Sabha member is fielded from Bhopal under the policy of the Congress party that top leaders should contest from difficult seats, which are with the BJP for the last so many terms. Now it will judged at the result of Bhopal seat whether he can bring back Bhopal seat for Congress or not. Similarly the BJP on testing ground at Indore. Here Mrs.Sumitra Majahan wrested this seat by defeating the Congress stalwart Mr.Prakash Chandra Sethi, in 1984 and holding the seat for BJP since then. In 2014 she was made Lok Sabha Speaker. But this time she was denied ticket on age ground retirement policy of the party. The people of Indore seat has not taken it lightly and position is difficult for the party. In Madhya Pradesh the position of Chief Minister Mr.Kamal Nath and former Chief Minister Mr.Shivraj Singh Chouhan is on acid test – who wins large number Lok Sabha seat in the state. Like Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, where Congress won back power by ousting BJP wants to repeat the performance in the Lok Sabha to come back in the power. In 2014 Congress suffered worst defeat that it could not get the status of main opposition party and post of leader of opposition. Mr.Narendra Modi in election campaign taunting Congress over it. Mrs.Sonia Gandhi retorted by saying that Congress routed the BJP Government of Prime Minister Mr.Atal Bihari Vajpayee after the first term and Congress ruled the country for 2 term with Mr.Manmohan Singh as Prime Minister. The Congress has set a target to capture power at the centre and make Mr.Rahul Gandhi the Prime Minister. The aim of the BJP is Modi Government once more. Out of the 543 seats of the Lok Sabha the polling is complete in 483 seats. In Bhind there were hot exchanges among the rival candidates and the administration had to keep three candidate Mr.Devashish Jarania of Congress, Mrs.Sendhya Roy of the BJP and Mr.Babulal Jomar confined as under the house arrest at the circuit house.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.