AIADMK allots 20 Assembly seats to BJP, Ponnar nominated for KK LS seat


Chennai, Mar 6 (UNI) Hours after the ruling AIADMK allotted  20 seats to its key ally, the BJP for the April six Assembly elections, besides the Kanniyakumari Lok Sabha bypoll seat, the saffron party nominated senior leader former Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan for the LS seat.
The Kanniyakumari LS seat fell vacant following the death of H Vasanthakumar of Congress due to corona virus.
Mr Vasanthakumar had defeated Mr Radhakrishnan by a margin of more than 2.5 lakh votes in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.
Mr Pon Radhakrishnan was twice elected from this seat in 2009 and 2014.
The AIADMK late on Friday night allotted 20 Assembly seats to the BJP and also extended its support to the Lok Sabha bypoll.
The nomination of Mr Radhakrishnan as the candidate comes a day ahead of the visit of Union Home Minister Amit Shah, who would campaign at Nagercoil tomorrow.
Amit Shah would also hold a road show and launch door-to-door campaign ‘Vijay Sankalp Mahasampark’ at Suseendram in Kanyakumari district after offering worship at the Thanumanavar temple. 
Later, Mr Amit Shah would hold meeting with BJP leaders at a hotel.