DMK finalises seat sharing with CPI(M), allots six Assembly seats


Chennai, Mar 8 (UNI) The main Opposition DMK today finalised the seat sharing agreement with the CPI(M) allotting six seats to it for the April six Tamil Nadu Assembly elections.
After protracted negotiations, the CPI(M) signed the agreement with the DMK on Monday.
Speaking to reporters after signing the pact, CPI(M) State Secretary K Balakrishnan, who had more than one occasionexpressed dissatisfaction over the offer of seats made by the DMK and held a series of meetings with its office-bearers,
said the party had agreed to the six seats with a view to defeat the AIADMK-BJP combine at the hustings.
'Evey party will like to contest more seats. We would have  been happy if we had got more number of seats', he added.
The BJP is known for toppling elected governments and the  recent example is Puducherry, where it had three nominated  members, he said, adding, such a situation should not arise to the Tamil Nadu Assembly. 
The DMK, which is keen on contesting more number of seats in the 234-member Assembly, had already allotted 25 seats
to the Congress, six each to the CPI, VCK, MDMK, three to  IUML and two to MMK.The DMK will be finalising the seat sharing agreement with  the Tamizhaga Vazhvurimai Katchi led by T Velmurugan and  Kongu Desiya Makkal Katchi later today.The Congress was also allotted the Kanniyakumari Lok Sabha seat, where bypoll would be held along with the Assembly polls,after the seat fell vacant due to the death of Congress MP H.Vasanthakumar due to corona.