Eight Oppn MPs suspended from RS


New Delhi (UNI)

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu on Monday suspended eight opposition members for the remaining part of the Monsoon session for their unruly behaviour in the House on Sunday. 

Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs V Muraleedharan moved a motion for suspension of Derek O’Brien of the All India Trinamool Congress, Sanjay Singh of the Aam Aadmi party, Rajeev Satav of the Congress, KK Ragesh of CPI, Syed Naseer Hussain of the Congress, Ripun Bora of the Congress, Dola Sen of All India Trinamool Congress and Elamaram Kareem of the CPI. 

The Motion was put to voice vote. ‘They have been suspended for the remainder of the session,’ the Chairman said after the voice vote. He asked the named members to leave the House. Opposition MPs, however, protested the decision and shouted slogans. Amid the uproar, the Chairman adjourned the house till 1000 hrs. Earlier, the Chairman rejected the no-confidence motion moved by the Opposition parties against the Deputy Chairman by saying that the motion was not in proper format. ‘’I have received a letter from Opposition leaders on no-confidence against the Deputy Chairman saying that he violated rules. 

The notice period of 14 days is required. I rule that the motion by Leader of the opposition and other members is not admissible,” he said. Mr Naidu said that he was pained about what happened on September 21. ‘’It was a bad day for Rajya Sabha. Some members came to the well of the House. They threw papers, they broke microphones, they abused the Deputy Chairman, according to him,” he said, adding that “it tarnished the image of Parliament’’.