Electors ditch corona fear, nearly 57 pc polling in final phase


Patna, Nov 07 (UNI) Despite the corona pandemic, nearly 57 per cent of the electorate exercised their franchise, sealing in EVMs the fate of 1204 candidates, including 12 ministers of Nitish cabinet, in the third and final phase of Bihar Assembly Elections that passed off peacefully, amid tight security arrangements in the 78 constituencies today.

Sources at office of Chief Electoral Officer said nearly 57 per cent of the total of 2,35,54,071 electorate exercised their franchise during last phase of Bihar Assembly elections.

No untoward incident was reported from any party of the state in the final phase of polling.

The first phase covered 71 constituencies, the second phase 94 constituencies and in the final phase, today, 78 constituencies went to the polls.

All eyes are now set on counting of votes to be taken up on November 10.

It remains to be seen whether luck would smile on Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, who had made an emotional appeal to people seeking blessings for another term, describing it as his last election, or RJD leader Tejaswi Prasad Yadav, the CM face of Grand Alliance who has promised to give 10 lakh government jobs to youths.

Polling started at 7AM and continued till 6 PM in 74 constituencies while voting ended at 4 PM at Valmiki Nagar, Ram Nagar, Simri Bakhtiarpur and Mahisi due to security reasons in four seats.

Prominent candidates whose political fortunes were sealed in EVMs are 12 ministers of Nitish Cabinet, eight from JD(U) quota and four from BJP quota.

The ministers, whose luck will be tested today, include Bijendra Prasad, Narendra Narain Yadav, Khurshid alias Firoz Ahmad, Madan Sahani, Maheshwar Hazari-- all from JD(U) and Pramod Kumar, Vinod Narayan Jha, Krishna Kumar Rishi and Suresh Kumar Sharma--all fromBJP.

Other prominent candidates are former ministers Abdul Bari Siddiqui, Ramai Ram and Suhasini Yadav and daughter of veteran socialist leader Sharad Yadav.