Punjab: 15 Ministers inducted in Channi Cabinet


Chandigarh, Sep 26 (UNI) The new Punjab Cabinet was sworn-in on Sunday by Governor Banwarilal Purohit, despite some protests and last minute hiccups over induction of Rana Gurjit Singh, who had been accused of being involved in corruption.

Among the first to take the oath were Brahm Mohindra and Manpreet Badal. Altogether 15 Ministers were sworn-in, including seven new faces.

The new faces include two-time MLA Raja Warring from Gidderbaha, three-time MLA from Amritsar Raj Kumar Verka, three-time MLA from Urmar Sangat Singh Gilzian, four-time MLA from Nabha Randeep Nabha along with others.

There was a controversy over reinduction of former Irrigation minister and three-time MLA from Kapurthala, Rana Gurjit Singh. Some party MLAs had raised objections to inclusion of Rana, who was dropped from the Cabinet in January 2018 because of an alleged involvement in the mining scandal.

Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa and OP Saini, who are deputy chief minIsters, were sworn in last Sunday with Chief Minsiter Charanjit Singh Channi on September 20.