Breaking News :

Arun Jaitley takes oath as member of Rajya Sabha


Agencies, New Delhi Finance Minister Arun Jaitley on Sunday took oath as member of the Rajya Sabha. Mr Jaitley, who has been re-elected to the Upper House in the biennial election to the Rajya Sabha from the state of Uttar Pradesh, made and subscribed oath before Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu in the Chairman’s Chamber at Parliament House. He is currently Minister of Finance and Minister of Corporate Affairs and the Leader of the House in the Rajya Sabha. Also present at the oath taking ceremony were Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad, Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Ananth Kumar, Minister of Law and Justice and Minister of Electronics and Information Technology Ravi Shankar Prasad, Minister of Human Resource Development Prakash Javadekar, Railways Minister Piyush Goyal, Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri, Minister of State in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs and Minister of State in the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, Vijay Goel, Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance Shiv Pratap Shukla, and other dignitaries including Members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. Also present was Secretary-General, Rajya Sabha Desh Deepak Verma.Mr Jaitley has been elected in April 2018 to the Rajya Sabha consecutively for the fourth term. He was elected to the Rajya Sabha for the first time in April 2000, re-elected in April 2006 and elected again in April 2012 from Gujarat.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.