Breaking News :

BJP, JD(U) to contest equal No. of seats in Bihar: LJP, RLSP part of alliance: Amit Shah


New Delhi, BJP and JD(U) on Friday decided to contest next year's Lok Sabha elections in Bihar together and the alliance will also include two other smaller parties - Ram Vilas Paswan-led LJP and RLSP of Upendra Khushwa. "We have decided to contest elections together. It has been decided that the BJP and JD(U) will fight on equal number of seats for Lok Sabha elections in Bihar," BJP national president Amit Shah told reporters here after a closed door meeting with Bihar Chief Minister and the JD(U) chief Nitish Kumar. Answering questions, he said other allies in the NDA - LJP of Mr Paswan and RLSP of Mr Khushwaha -- both Union Ministers - will also be part of the alliance. "I can tell you that other allies will also get a respectable seat share. Numbers will be finalised at a later stage," he said. To a question on whether BJP is making maximum sacrifice to keep the allies happy in Bihar, he said "If we have decided to contest elections together, everyone will make their part of adjustment and sacrifice". In 2014 parliamentary polls - JD(U) of Mr Nitish Kumar was not part of the NDA.The saffron alliance had swept the Lok Sabha polls winning 31 seats out of 40. BJP had won 22 seats while LJP of Mr Paswan had picked up as many as six seats. RLSP of Mr Khushwaha also had won three seats in fiercely contested elections wherein Lalu Prasad's RJD ended up with a poor show winning only four seats.Even Lalu Prasad's wife Rabri Devi and daughter Misa Bharti had lost the elections to BJP's Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Ram Kripal Yadav respectively. The JD(U) strength was reduced to merely two. In 2015 assembly polls, JD(U)-RJD-Congress alliance recorded a convincing victory but at later stage Mr Kumar parted ways from RJD-Congress combine and returned to the NDA fold.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.