Breaking News :

BJP reposes faith in late Deshraj Singh Yadav’s wife in Mungaoli


Devendra Jain party candidate from Kolaras

Chronicle Reporter, Bhopal After Congress, the BJP has also announced its candidates for the by-elections in Kolaras and Mungaoli assembly seats. Significantly in Mungaoli the BJP has reposed faith in former MLA late Deshraj Singh Yadav’s family by fielding his wife Baisaab Yadav. Party state president Nandkumar Singh Chauhan said that the names of Baisaab Yadav for Mungaoli and Devendra Jain for Kolaras have been forwarded to the BJP’s central election committee for a final approval. Chauhan said the party had selected single names for by-polls in the two assembly constituencies after detailed consideration. He said the names of Baisaab Yadav for Mungaoli and Devendra Jain for Kolaras have been sent to the central election committee to approve the names. He said the decision to choose one candidate each for both the constituencies was taken unanimously by the party leaders. After approval from the central committee, the candidates will file their nominations for the by-polls. Earlier, BJP leaders met chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan at his official residence to discuss the probable names for the by-polls. Apart from Chauhan, BJP state organising general secretary Suhas Bhagat and other leaders were present during the meet. Later, the names of the candidates for the upcoming by-polls were declared and forwarded to the central committee. BJP’s Mungaoli candidate Baisaab Yadav is the wife of former MLA late Rao Deshraj Singh Yadav, who had a sway in the region against the clout of Scindia and garnered support of the Yadav community, which comprises a major chunk of the voters. Last week, Congress announced its candidates for the by-polls after approval from Congress president Rahul Gandhi. The party declared Mahendra Singh Yadav as the candidate for Kolaras and Brijendra Singh Yadav from Mungaoli.

Outcome of by-polls will give strong message to political circles

The outcome of upcoming by-elections to Mungaoli and Kolaras assembly seats will be watched keenly as it would be a pointer to the general mood in the BJP-ruled Madhya Pradesh which is going to polls later this year. Both the BJP and Congress are confident of the victory on the two seats, currently held by the Congress, that fall under Guna Lok Sabha constituency, the pocket-borough of Congress stalwart Jyotiraditya Scindia. The by-elections scheduled in February, 2018 would prove as a litmus test for both the ruling BJP and the Congress, as the Assembly elections are scheduled only in November this year. The outcome of the upcoming by-elections to Mungaoli and Kolaras Assembly seats will give a strong message to political circles even as it would decide the fate of the ruling BJP and the factionalism within the Congress party. As both the constituencies are parts of Guna Parliamentary constituency, which is represented by Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia, the Congress leader is on the ground with full might and leading the fight. The by-polls have not been declared, but Scindia has started camping in the region and sending his dedicated supporters from different parts of the State for working in the field garnering favour for the Congress. For Scindia, retaining both the seats in his home turf is a battle of prestige as he is positioning himself as the chief ministerial candidate of the Congress. His recent visit to Bhopal and meeting with PCC Chief Arun Yadav was viewed as his exercise to take Yadav and his camp along in wresting both the seats. Since, there are sizeable votes of Yadav community in both the constituencies, Yadav was spared of his post by the high command. Both the BJP and Congress are confident of the victory on the two seats, which were so far in the possession of Congress.After the Chitrakoot victory and civic poll results in 19 municipal bodies, the Congress is ready to give a tough fight and retain both the seats. Congress candidates will file their nominations on January 31 in the presence of state in-charge Deepak Babaria and senior leaders Kamal Nath, Jyotiraditya Scindia and Arun Yadav. The last date of filing nominations is February 6, while polling for the two seats will be held on February 24. The results will be declared on February 28.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.

Related Posts