Breaking News :

Fodder Scam: CBI court to announce quantum of punishment tomorrow afternoon


Ranchi, A special CBI court will tomorrow afternoon announce the quantum of punishment against former Bihar chief minister and RJD supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav and 15 other convicts in case number RC64A/96 which is related to fraudulent withdrawal of Rs 89 point 4 crore from the Deoghar treasury. The court of special CBI judge Shivpal Singh would be tomorrow from 1400hrs through video conferencing announcing the quantum of punishment against Mr Yadav and other convicts in the case which also included former MP Jagdish Sharma and former MLA R K Rana. The court would also be announcing the quantum of punishment against Beik Julis (former animal husbandry secretary) Mahesh Prasad (former animal husbandry secretary) Phoolchand Singh (former development commissioner), Dr Krishna Kumar (former animal husbandry officer) and Subir Bhattacharya (former treasury officer). Suppliers against whom the punishment would also be awarded included Tripurari Mohan Prasad, Raja Ram Joshi, Sunil Kumar Sinha, Sushil Kumar Sinha, Sunil Gandhi, Sanjay Kumar Aggarwal, Jyoti Kumar Jha and Gopinath Jha. Lawyer of Mr Lalu Prasad Yadav, Prabhat Kumar said that today arguments from the side remaining 11 accused was completed after which the judge said that the quantum of punishment would be announced tomorrow afternoon. Yesterday arguments on the quantum of punishment was completed by the lawyers of five other convicts. He said, that he had urged the judge to be leniant in awarding the punishment to Mr Yadav keeping in mind his health grounds and old age conditions.The court had on December 23, 2017 convicted Mr Yadav and 15 others in the case while it had let off another former Bihar chief minister Jaggannath Mishra and five others in the case.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.