ICAI elects new torchbearers for the year 2018-19


Chronicle Reporter, Bhopal The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (ICAI) is a statutory body established by the Chartered Accountants Act, 1949 for the regulation of the profession of Chartered Accountants in India. The affairs of the ICAI are managed by a Council in accordance with the provisions of the Chartered Accountants Act, 1949 and the Chartered Accountants Regulations, 1988. The Council is composed of 40 members of whom 32 are elected by the members and remaining 8 are nominated by the Central Government generally representing the Comptroller and Auditor General of India, Ministry of Corporate Affairs, Ministry of Finance and other stakeholders. On February 12, 2018, ICAI elected its new Torchbearers CA. Naveen N.D. Gupta as the President and CA. Prafulla P. Chhajed as the Vice-President for year 2018-19.