ICC announces Match Officials for all league matches


Dubai, The International Cricket Council today announced the match officials

for the league phase of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020, with three match referees

and 12 umpires set to take the reins for the 23-match tournament.

The list of match officials includes a record six women. GS Lakshmi is set to become the

first woman match referee at a global ICC event, with Lauren Agenbag, Kim Cotton, Claire

Polosak, Sue Redfern and Jacqueline Williams the women umpires named for the

eight-team competition.

Williams will stand along with Shaun George in the high-profile tournament opener

between Australia and India on February 21, soon after becoming the first woman to

officiate as a third umpire in a men's international cricket match, while other women

officials too will be looking to build on recent achievements.

Polosak, who became the first female umpire to officiate in a men’s ODI last year, will

pair with Nitin Menon in the match between former champions West Indies and first-timers

Thailand on February 22, a fixture that will also see match referee Lakshmi officiate two

months since becoming the first female match referee in a men’s ODI.

Adrian Griffith, ICC Senior Manager, Umpires and Referees said, “This is the largest

compliment of women match officials at a single event, and the progress we have made

is heartening. We have endeavoured to provide opportunities to women officials based

on merit, and it is because of their skillset and hard work that they have graduated to

the top level.

“We appoint the best match officials for an event and are pleased we have the right mix.

I wish all match officials at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup the very best and am

confident we will have smooth adjudication of the matches,” Griffith said.

Emirates ICC Elite Panel Match Referee Chris Broad will be the senior most match official

at the event with Steve Bernard also a match referee. The other umpires at the tournament

will be Gregory Brathwaite, Chris Brown, Ahsan Raza, Langton Rusere and Alex Wharf.

The appointments for the semi-finals will be announced at the end of the league stage

and those for the final will be finalised after the semi-finals.

Match Officials at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020

Match Referees: Steve Bernard, Chris Broad, GS Lakshmi

Umpires: Lauren Agenbag, Gregory Brathwaite, Chris Brown, Kim Cotton, Shaun George,

Nitin Menon, Claire Polosak, Ahsan Raza, Sue Redfern, Langton Rusere, Alex Wharf,

Jacqueline Williams.