Monsoon session of Parliament from July 18 to Aug 10, Bill to ban Triple Talaq among important Bills on agenda


New Delhi, The Monsoon Session of Parliament will be held from July 18 to August 10 with important Bills like Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty-Third Amendment) Bill, 2017 and the Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2017 on the agenda for the session. Addressing a press conference after a meeting of the Cabinet Committee for Parliamentary Affairs, chaired by Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar said, 'the monsoon session of Parliament will commence on July 18 and conclude on August 10.'He said the session would have a period of 18 working days. The Minister appealed to all political parties to constructively cooperate with the Government to make this session a productive one. “The government expects constructive cooperation from all political parties to make the monsoon session productive,” Mr Kumar said. He said the legislative business during the session would include passing of six Ordinances promulgated during the inter-session period before the Monsoon Session, 2018. The Minister said the Government would bring other important bills, including the Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty-Third Amendment) Bill, 2017, Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2017, Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Bill, 2016, National Medical Commission Bill, 2017, Rights of Children to Free and Compulsory Education (Second Amendment) Bill, 2017, inter alia, for consideration and passing in both Houses of Parliament. Mr Ananth Kumar also informed that the election to the post of Deputy Chairman, Rajya Sabha would also be held during the session as the term of Mr P J Kurien is ending this month.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.