Monsoon session of Parliament gets underway on Wednesday, series of meetings on cards


New Delhi, The Monsoon session of Parliament will get underway on Wednesday.The session with 18 working days will continue till August 10. According to official sources, the government is keen to push important Bills, including the Constitution (123rd Amendment) Bill, 2017, Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2017, Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Bill, 2016, National Medical Commission Bill, 2017 and Rights of Children to Free and Compulsory Education (Second Amendment) Bill, 2017 for consideration and passing in both the Houses of Parliament. The ruling BJP will be holding a crucial meeting of BJP Parliamentary Party Executives later in the day and the top leaders of BJP-led NDA conglomeration would also be meeting on Tuesday afternoon. An all party meeting has been convened in Parliament premises here. During the meeting, the government is set to enlist support and cooperation from the Opposition parties for the smooth conduct of proceedings in both the Houses. In Rajya Sabha, the election to the post of Deputy Chairman would also be held during the session, as the term of PJ Kurien has ended. Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan has written to members in the Lower House of Parliament, urging the lawmakers to discharge their responsibilities as elected MPs of the country's 'Supreme Panchayat' and said as the tenure of the present House will end fast, everyone should focus in doing the "unfinished" tasks. In a three-page and quite an unprecedented letter, among other things, she said it is a privilege being a member of the 'august House' and in return, 'you (members) may also wish to not only meet the expectations of your constituents and the nation, but also make contribution to the progress of the country". Leaders of Opposition parties met in the national capital on Monday decided to highlight major issues confronting the country like agrarian issues and mob lynching. Ghulam Nabi Azad from the Congress, Sharad Pawar from NCP, Satish Chandra Misra from BSP, Misa Bharti of RJD, TKS Elangovan of DMK and Mohammed Salim of CPI-M were among those, who attended the meeting. TDP members have already started a campaign, seeking support from other parties to move a No Trust motion against the government for alleged failure to ensure Special Category status to the bifurcated Andhra Pradesh. In a letter addressed to all leaders of various parties, TDP supremo and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu accused the Modi government with failing to "respect BJP's own manifesto" of 2014 Lok Sabha polls. TDP, which was party of NDA till March this year, also charged the erstwhile Congress-led UPA with adopting "unscientific process" during the bifurcation of Andhra and for creation of new state of Telangana.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.