North-East Elections


In the North-Eastern states of Tripura-Nagaland-Meghalaya general elections to the State Assemblies the Bhartiya Janata Party exhibited its tremendous political capability particularly in Tripura. Few years back it established its strong foothold when for the first time it captured power in Assam. In Tripura the CPM was in power for the last 25 years and it was considered that so long as Chief Minister Mr.Manak Sarkar is there CPM will rule there. But the Bhartiya Janata Party which was zero in 2013 emerged as Hero in 2018 within 43 seats alongwith its local ally People Front of Tripura. The BJP secured 35 and Front 8 seats. The ruling CPM has 49 in the last House is reduced to 16 seats. The Congress which had 10 seats now reduced to zero. In 2013 the BJP contested 50 seats and in all its candidates except one lost deposits and it could not win a single seat and it was zero. In vote percentage the BJP had 1.5 per cent in 2013 now jumped to 43 per cent. The ruling CPM had 48.11 per cent now come down 42.7 per cent. The Congress had 36.53 per cent has come down to 1.8 per cent only. Such gains and loss happened twice earlier in Indian elections. In 1977 during emergency the Lok Sabha elections were announced. In a most hurried way Mr.Jaya Prakash Narayan united almost all the opposition parties into Janata Party and routed the Congress Government of Mrs.Indira Gandhi at the Centre and later also in states. But in three years Mrs.Gandhi played up Charan Singh first to smash the Janata Party organizational set up into fragments and in 1980 smashed all the Janata Party Government at the Centre and States and recaptured power with much more strength. In the North Eastern elections the Congress suffered severe rout in Tripura as well as in Nagaland also where it had 8 members in the Assembly now reduced to zero here also. In Meghalaya it is in power but in this election although it has emerged as largest single party but with reduced strength. It had 27 Assembly members in 2013 now come down 21. The BJP was zero here in 2013 now may have solace by winning just 2 seats in 60 member House. The Congress has again staked its claim to form Government by getting support with some other parties. But the composition of the Assembly is very fragile that the coalition Government will always in political pulls. In Nagaland the BJP will form coalition Government with poll partner NDPP by securing 29 seats while the ruling NPF reduced to 27 which had 38 in the last House. Now all the eyes are set on Karnataka Vidhan Sabha general election. Here the Congress is in power in the 225 member Assembly. It has 122 members in the Assembly and Mr.Siddaramaiah is the Chief Minister. The BJP and Deve Gowda’s Janata Dal Secular both have 40 member each and others are 22. The election will be held in April-May.