Breaking News :

PM expresses confidence all parties will cooperate in smooth running of Parliament


New Delhi, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has expressed confidence that all political parties will cooperate on smooth running of Parliament during Monsoon Session beginning Wednesday. 'Government gives huge importance to the issues raised by all political parties and them to collectively strive to create a constructive atmosphere in both Houses to achieve national good,' Mr Modi said addressing floor leaders of parties in the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha here on Tuesday in a meeting chaired by him. The Prime Minister expressed confidence that all political parties would cooperate on smooth running of Parliament and undertake constructive discussion on issues of national importance. Briefing mediapersons after the meeting, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar said the Government has requested all parties, especially the opposition, for their co-operation for the smooth functioning of the House. 'A host of issues were brought up by the leaders of parties during the meeting. There was a consensus across party lines on ensuring smooth functioning of the Parliament without disruptions and deadlocks to be resolved through constructive discussions in both the Houses,' he said. The people of India want Parliament to function. Government calls for cooperation from all parties in country's interest, he said. The Minister informed that all parties were in favour of a productive Monsoon session. The Government is always ready to discuss on the floor of the House, any issue as permitted under rules of procedure. 'The Government will leave no stone unturned to facilitate smooth functioning of the Parliament during the ensuing Monsoon Session,' he added. The Minister said that the Session will provide a total of 18 sittings spread over a period of 24 days and 48 items have been identified for being taken up. Six Bills replacing ordinances -- The Fugitive Economic Offenders Ordinance, 2018; The Criminal Law (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018; The Commercial Courts, Commercial Division and Commercial Appellate Division of High Courts (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018; The Homoeopathy Central Council (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018; The National Sports University Ordinance, 2018; and The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Ordinance, 2018 -- are required to be passed during the ensuing Monsoon Session. Further, some important pending legislations in the Houses required to be considered and passed during the Session include The Consumer Protection Bill, 2018; The New Delhi International Arbitration Centre Bill, 2018; The Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Bill, 2016 and The Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty-Third Amendment) Bill, 2017. The National Medical Commission Bill, 2017; The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2017; The Motor Vehicles (Amendment) Bill, 2017; and The Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Bill, 2013 are the other pending legislations. Some important new bills likely to be introduced, considered and passed during this session apart from the six Bills replacing Ordinances are The Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India (Amendment) Bill, 2018; The Banning of Unregulated Deposit Schemes Bill, 2018; The Protection of Human Rights (Amendment) Bill, 2018; The Micro Small and Medium Enterprises Development (Amendment) Bill, 2018; The National Trust for Welfare of Persons with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities (Amendment) Bill, 2018; The Dam Safety Bill, 2018; and Trafficking of Persons (Prevention, Protection and Rehabilitation) Bill, 2018. The all-Party meeting, convened at the Parliament house, was attended by Union Minister for Home Affairs Rajnath Singh, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and Statistics & Programme Implementation Vijay Goel, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and Water Resources, River development and Ganga Rejuvenation, Arjun Ram Meghwal, along with other Ministers. Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad, Leader of Congress in the Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge, Deputy Leader of Congress in the Rajya Sabha Anand Sharma, Sharad Pawar of NCP and Left leaders Sitaram Yechury and D Raja were also present in the meeting. Mr Kumar further informed that the Session, subject to exigencies of Government Business, may conclude on August 10.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.