Breaking News :

PM to inaugurate two-day National Legislators Conference on 'We For Development'


New Delhi, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate National Legislators Conference on the theme 'We For Development' on Saturday morning.The two-day conference on March 9 and 10, being held at the initiative of Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, will be attended by cabinet ministers, chief ministers, members of state assemblies and councils and MPs. The motive of the conference is to bring MPs and MLAs on a single platform where ideas and plans for development can be exchanged. Role of public representatives in development and optimum use of resources will be the subjects on agenda for discussions. Addressing a press conference here on Friday, Ms Mahajan said the conference will hold discussions on how women help in the development work being done for the country where ideas on projects and plans can be debated. The conference will be attended by Union Ministers, including Arun Jaitley, J P Nadda, Nirmala Sitharaman, Suresh Prabhu, Narender Singh Tomar, Prakash Javadekar and Dharmendra Pradhan. NITI Aayog CEO Amitabh Kant will give a presentation on the first day and the plenary will be presided over by Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai while Union Minister Nitin Gadkari will preside over the conference on the second day. Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu will address the concluding session.Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad, MPs Bhartruhari Mahtab, Kalyan Banerjee will also attend the conference. Participants of the conference will be divided in four groups which will hold discussions and MLAs can bring attention of the Minister to their respective areas, Ms Mahajan said. She said there should be no politics in the development of the country, adding that in this direction, she had held at least four discussions on sustainable development.A minimum of six people, including two women, from each state would be attending the conference which would be attended by more than 175 people, Ms Mahajan said. Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Meghalaya won't have any representation because of elections, she stated.Earlier in March 2016 , Indian Parliamentary Group held a conference on women empowerment where women chief Ministers were present, she said.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.

Related Posts