Breaking News :

Rawat appointed new CEC


Agencies, New Delhi Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat on Sunday was appointed the Chief Election Commissioner. Mr Rawat will take charge of on January 23 replacing AK Joti, who retires tomorrow. Former finance Secretary Ashok Lawasa was appointed as the Election Commissioner. With these two appointments, the three member Election Commission will not have any vacancy. Sunil Arora is the other Election Commissioner.Mr Rawat was appointed Election Commissioner in August 2015.According to a notification issued by the Ministry of Law and Justice here on Sunday, President Ram Nath Kovind has approved the appointment of Mr Rawat as the new Chief Election Commissioner. Mr Joti had made an important decision on Friday before the expiry of his tenure, by sending a recommendation to the President regarding the disqualification of the Aam Aadmi Party’s 20 MLAs in office of profit case. The President also approved the appointment of Mr Lavasa as the Election Commissioner with effect from the date he assumes the office.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.