Special gram sabhas on unorganized labourer welfare schemes today


CM Chouhan to address special gram sabhas at 5.30 pm 

Chronicle Reporter, Bhopal Special gram sabhas will be organized in the state to provide information about labour protection and labour welfare schemes to the labourers of the unorganized sector on May 7 at 5 pm. Information related to labourer welfare schemes and Chief Minister’s Unorganized Labourer Welfare Scheme will be provided in these special gram sabha meetings. On the same day Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan will address the gram sabha meetings at 5.30 pm and converse with the labourers present on the occasion. It may be noted that a unique scheme has been implemented in the state under the guidance of Chouhan for the welfare of the unorganized sector’s labourers. In his message broadcast on the occasion, CM Chouhan said the labourers from the unorganized sector were unable to raise their voice for their rights and facilities. In a significant decision, the state government has made a unique scheme for the welfare of labourers of the unorganized sector. The labourers have been registered so that they can avail the benefit of the scheme. Chouhan urged the registered labourers to check their names in the list to be read out in the gram sabhas. If they find their name is missing, they should immediately get their names listed so that they can avail its benefits. Chouhan said that the scheme has arrangements to provide land pattas, pucca houses, education of children, medical treatment, maternity assistance, assistance amount to those facing disability during work, compensation in case of accident, assistance for performing last rites etc. to labourers. He said that farmers with up to 2.5 acre land have also been included in this scheme because they come under agricultural labourer category. Panch-sarpanch of the related villages and elite members of the gram sabha will read out the CM’s message during the gram sabhas. Revenue Minister Umashankar Gupta, Chief Secretary B.P. Singh, Additional Chief Secretary Iqbal Singh Bains, Additional Chief Secretary Finance A.P. Shrivastava, Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister Ashok Bernawal, Principal Secretary Vivek Agarwal., Principal Secretary S.K. Mishra and senior officers were present.