State Govt to deposit fee of backward class students in recognized universities


Chronicle Reporter, Bhopal Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan has said that the state government will deposit fee of backward class students studying in recognized universities. Besides, the students will impart employment oriented training and free coaching. Chief Minister Chouhan was reviewing Department of Backward Classes and Minority Welfare at Mantralaya today. On the occasion, Minister of State for Backward Classes and Minority Welfare Department, Smt Lalita Yadav, Chief Secretary BP Singh were present. Chief Minister Chouhan said that the employment oriented training to youth should have quality so that they can get job. He reviewed all schemes in detail. Secretary of the department Ramesh Thete informed that scholarships worth over Rs 150 crore are distributed to 30 lakh students every year under other backward state scholarship scheme. In the year 2017-18, scholarships to the tune of Rs 573 crore were distributed under different schemes. He informed that hostels are under operation in each district for backward class students. Construction for 100-seater hostel will start soon in Ujjain, Bhopal and Gwalior. Similarly, 500 seater hostel in Jabalpur, Bhopal and Gwalior and 100 seat girl hostels in Damoh, Ujjain, Rajgarh and Raisen have been sanctioned. Ten hostels each for boys and girls have been sanctioned at development block level for providing hostel facility. Rs 10 crore 76 lakh have been sanctioned for construction of Sadbhavana Mandap in Burhanpur, Khargone, Mhow cant Indore, Sheopur under Minority dominated area development scheme. Similarly, 100-seater minority girl hostel-cum-computer centres are being constructed in Sheopur, Burhanpur and Khargone. Loan assistance of Rs 112 crore 38 lakh has been availed to 3151 beneficiaries under Mukhyamantri Swarojgar Evam Arthik Kalyan Yojana. Free coaching will be provided to 20000 students this year. Last year, employment oriented training was imparted to 8525 youths. Additional Chief Secretary Finance AP Shrivastava, Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, SK Mishra and Principal Secretary to Chief Minister Vivek Agrawal were present in the meeting.