Sushil Chandra takes over as new Election Commissioner


New Delhi, Mr Sushil Chandra on Friday assumed charge as the new Election Commissioner of India and joined the Commission with Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora and Election Commissioner Ashok Lavasa. Born on May 15, 1957, Mr Chandra is a 1980 batch Indian Revenue Service Officer. In the IRS service, he has rendered his service in various states -- Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Delhi, Gujarat and Maharashtra. Acquiring his academic proficiency from Roorkee University and LLB from DAV College, Dehradun, Mr Chandra has worked extensively in the areas of International Taxation and Investigation at various places. He brings rich experience from his position of Director of Investigation, Mumbai and Director General (Investigation), Gujarat. Besides this, he has undergone various training programmes at Singapore, IIM Bangalore and Wharton. Prior to joining the Commission, Mr Chandra held the office of chairman in Central Board of Direct Taxes, Department of Revenue, Ministry of Finance, and Government of India and was also Member (Investigation), CBDT.