Breaking News :

Third Phase Polling


In the third phase of Lok Sabha general elections 116 seats in 13 states and 2 Union Territories in all 15 states election were completed. Uptill now 302 seats out of total 534 seats of Lok Saha have been completed. In the third phase all the 26 seats of Gujarat and 20 seats of Kerala, the election are over. The Lok Sabha elections are being held in total 7 phases, four are get to be completed.The results will be out on May 23-24. In the third phase the polling average was 66.4 per cent. It was highest in Assam at 80.75 per cent and lowest in Kashmir Valley Anantnag Lok Sabha seat where the polling was 12.86 per cent. There is nothing usual in it. In every election the anti-India Muslim leaders give poll boycott call and percentage is very low. In the second phase the Srinagar seat went to poll recording nearly the same percentage 13 per cent. In Srinagar Mr.Farookh Abdullah is the National Conference candidates with poll alliance with Congress. In Anandnag Mehboobba Mufti is PWP nominee. It is expected that after Lok Sabha polls the election in Jammu and Kashmir will be held. Presently after the collapse of coalition Government of PWP-BJP with Mehbooba Mufti as Chief Minister kept in animated suspension and later dissolved. It is almost certain in the Assembly election in Congress-National Conference alliance will continue to contest election. After polls the Congress-National Conference are likely to form Government.The BJP has fielded film actor Sunny Deol from Gurdaspur seat of Punjab. He is son of film actor Dharmendra and his first wife Prakash Kaur. Hema Malini his second mother is also contesting again from her Madhura Lok Sabha seat. Mr.Dharmendra himself was once BJP member of Lok Sabha from Bikaner of Rajasthan. In the third phase Mr.Lal Krishna Advani who has held the Gandhinagar Lok Sabha of Gujarat is not in election race this time. The party President Mr.Amit Shah is candidate. Mr.Advani casted his vote from Gandhinagar polling booth and the Prime Minister Mr.Narendra Modi voted in Ahmedabad. In Uttar Pradesh the Rampur seat is hot contest between the BJP nominee film Star Jaya Prada and SP-BSP alliance candidate Mr.Azam Khan.Jaya Prada had been Lok Sabha member from here twice on Samajwadi Party ticket. Here Mr.Azam Khan passed some indecent remarks against Jaya Prada. The Election Commission put 72 hour campaign ban to Mr.Azam Khan. In the third phase at the start of polling Samajwadi President Mr.Akhilesh Yadav alleged faults in 300 EVM. The Returning Officer and Election Commission rejected his charges and asserted that very few machines were changed immediately and the polling ws perfect in the entire Rampur Constituency.

Opinions expressed in the comments are not reflective of Central Chronicle. Comments are moderated automatically.