Tomar appointed as BJP Election Mgmt Committee convener


Agencies, Bhopal Ahead of Madhya Pradesh assembly elections slated to be held by this year end, Union Rural Development and Panchayati Raj Minister Narendra Singh Tomar has been appointed as the convener of the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Election Management Committee. Newly-appointed Madhya Pradesh BJP President Rakesh Singh made the announcement while talking to media here today. “Former Union minister Faggan Singh Kulaste and Madhya Pradesh ministers Narottam Mishra and Lal Singh Arya have been appointed as co-conveners,” he said. The Committee includes Union Minister Thawarchand Ghehlot, Rajya Sabha MP Prabhat Jha, BJP general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya, MP Prahlad Patel, state minister Bhupendra Singh, Rajendra Shukla and Maya Singh and outgoing state BJP president Nand Kumar Singh Chauhan as members. Mr Singh said that the Chief Minister, BJP General Secretary (Organisation) Suhas Bhagat and he himself would serve as officiating members. He said that the Committee would function in coordination with the party organisation. In response to a question, Mr Singh said that the party organisation’s team is intact. Replying to another query, he denied that anti-incumbency existed in the state. He said that the party will contest elections with full potential.